Who are we?

  • The establishment of the Albanian Association of Gastrohepatology. Prof. Bashkim Resuli was the first President of the organisation and Prof. Skerdi Prifti General Secretary. In 1994 AAGEH became part of the World Gastroenterology Organisation (WGO/OMGE).
  • In October 1994, AAGEH was presented with full and equal rights at the WGO World Congress in Los Angeles, California, USA.
  • March 2006, President: Prof. Jovan Basho. The organisation was reorganised, the statute re-established, and it was established on legal grounds with the Albanian state. The name changed to the Albanian Association of Gastro-Entero-Hepatology. The first issue of the Association’s Journal was published.
  • November 2009, President: Prof. Skerdi Prifti. The Albanian Association of Gastro-Entero-Hepatology, became a full member of the European Association of Gastroenterology (UEG), during the UEG Week’s joint activity and the WGO World Congress in London.

The Association’s Presidents through the years:

  • Prof. Bashkim Resuli – 1994-2006
  • Prof. Jovan Basho – 2006-2009
  • Prof. Skerdi Prifti – 2009-2012
  • Prof. Asc. Ilir Bibolli – 2012-2015
  • Prof. Asc. Adriana Babameto – 2015-2018
  • Prof. Skerdi Prifti – 2018- currently